The last leg – days 306-307

And then I left Canada and was on the final leg of the big adventure.

IMG_9501.JPG

I flew to Iceland, obviously, then on to Gatwick. From Gatwick it was into London, and up to Leeds. Obviously I didn’t want to make it too easy for myself on the last hurdle, but it was nice that Big Dave came and met me on Leeds train station to take me back to 14mww. Home.

Not many people knew I was coming back because I had a couple of surprises lined up, but that meant I was free to enjoy a shower and a curry. Lola being around just made it even better.

So, 307 days, 32 countries, around 30 types of transport, who knows how many miles, lots of amazing experiences later and I am back in Leeds trying to re-adjust to day to day life.

It hasn’t been as hard as I expected it to be. I guess this goes to my out of sight out of mind mentality, which means I don’t miss things when they’re gone.

I love travelling, but I was ready to come home. I was getting bored of constantly having to think “is this person trying to rip me off?” everyday. It’s exhausting. And also the big factor was I have run out of money, totally and utterly.

I’ve made some lifelong friends, I have a list as long as my arm of places to visit and revisit, I know Liam probably better than anyone except his sister, and I have changed as a person. I’ll never regret blowing my entire savings over the past ten months.

Now it is time to settle down, take the job in the air conditioned box and start acting like a responsible adult in Newcastle. At least Monday to Friday anyway.

That and book flights back to Asia in January, and maybe Istanbul in November – well I never said I got the travel bug totally out of my system!

 

 

Leave a Reply

